Home page   2017 Winners   Charities & Sponsors   The Judges   Past Winners  

At the  AWARDS LUNCHEON (held Tuesday,  11th  July  2017)
The  James  Cropper  33rd  Hunter  Davies  Lakeland  Book  of  the  Year  WINNER  was  announced.

It is THE MARCHES, by Rory Stewart.
A vivid account of the author's 30-day journey - on foot - along the border between England & Scotland.  It also won the Bill Rollinson Prize for Landscape and Tradition.

"I felt great anxiety taking on the Lake District; every stream has been written about so carefully, described so beautifully, and perfectly clarified in three hundred years of the best of English writing which I cannot hope to emulate.  It was therefore a difficult book to write.  But it was also the one of which I am most proud."  Rory Stewart

Five other categories were judged for prizes in 2017:

The Striding Edge Productions Prize for Guides and Places:
   The Lakeland Dales  by Robert Gamble

The Latitude Press Prize for Illustration and Presentation:
   Nowt but a Fleein' Thing  by Al Phizacklea and Mike Cocker

The Zeffirellis Prize for People and Business:
   Donald Campbell - An Odyssey in Speed   by David de Lara

The Bookends Prize for Arts and Literature:
   How to Measure a Cow  by Margaret Forster

The Bill Rollinson Prize for Landscape and Tradition:
   The Marches  written by Penrith and the Border MP Rory Stewart

Find out more about these books

« Top »

HTML Validator CSS Validator